Nominate an Exceptional Leader in Publishing



Gloria Steinem

Since 1998, Exceptional Women in Publishing (formerly Women in Periodical Publishing), has selected a woman in the publishing industry to publicly honor her achievements. The nominees for the annual award are solicited from former recipients, EWIP members, esteemed publishing industry colleagues, and interested people like YOU. The honorees often surpass the criteria, achieving personal excellence, a reputation for mentoring, and exceptional leadership in an industry that seems to transform itself every year.

The honored recipients of the EWIP Award, have been successful in transforming themselves and their organizations to adjust to the social, economic, and technological changes of the publishing/media industry. The Exceptional Woman in Publishing Award has been presented to the honoree at a publishing industry event. Fortunately, since 2009, we have been able to celebrate our honorees at EWIP’s own conference in San Francisco. The full list of the EWIP award recipients, beginning with Gloria Steinem in 1999, on the Awards page.

Please use this online form to submit the name of someone who you personally know meets, or exceeds, the criteria outlined here. For additional information, contact the nomination committee chair, Linda Ruth, at

Nomination Criteria:

  1. A woman who has risen to a leadership level in publishing, overcoming significant challenges in her career; who has achieved a high standard of excellence within her publishing discipline, and consistently offers guidance and mentoring others to become future leaders in the industry.
  2. A woman who has made extraordinary contributions to the publishing industry as a whole; and who has achieved prominence in her career demonstrating success and leadership in nontraditional or exceptional ways.

Please use this form to submit your nomination.

My candidate for Exceptional Woman in Publishing is:

Her title:

Her Company:

Reason(s) I think she's exceptional:

My Name (required)

My Email (required)

My Address

For additional information about the award and nomination process, contact the Nomination Committee Chair, Linda Ruth, at

Thank you!