SPONSORS: Google SubDirect Quad/Graphics ATClayton kdmcBerkeley

Award Recipients

Exceptional Woman in Publishing Award

Each year Exceptional Women in Publishing (EWIP) selects an accomplished woman to receive the Exceptional Woman in Publishing Award. We select someone for this honor who has achieved prominence in her career, has made extraordinary contributions to publishing, and has demonstrated success and leadership in nontraditional and/or exceptional ways. All recipients of the honor, beginning with Gloria Steinem in 1999, inspire all of us.

Exceptional Women in Publishing announces the recipient of the 17th Exceptional Woman in Publishing Award: Susan Goldberg, editor in chief of National Geographic, the eighth largest magazine in the U.S.  The 2015 EWIP Award will be presented to Ms. Goldberg during EWIP’s seventh annual Women’s Leadership Conference in Berkeley, California on March 26, 2015. [Press Release]

Honorees of the Exceptional Woman in Publishing Award

ewip award- kara swisher 2014

2015 Susan Goldberg, editor in chief, National Geographic magazine and News

2014 Kara Swisher, co-founder, Re/code.
VIDEO: Watch Kara Swisher accepting her award.

2013 Deanna Brown, former president, Byliner and industry advisor.

2012 Michela O’Connor Abrams, president Dwell Media, LLC.

2011 Laurel Touby, the founder and senior vice president of mediabistro.com.
Presentation to Deanna Brown EWIP2013

2010 Katrina vanden Heuvel, editor and publisher of The Nation magazine.

2009 Dorothy Kalins, former executive editor of Newsweek, founding editor of Saveur, and is currently running the show at Dorothy Kalins, Ink.

2008 Alix Kennedy, former VP and editorial director of Family-Fun and Wondertime magazines, part of Disney Publishing Worldwide.

2007 Phyllis Hoffman, president and CEO, Hoffman Media, LLC.
Lynn Povich

2006 Lynn Povich, former editor-in-chief, of Working Woman and the first female senior editor of Newsweek who wrote, The Good Girl Revolt, the true story about the 46 women working at Newsweek in 1970 who won a landmark lawsuit against their employers for “systematic discrimination” in hiring and promotion.

2005 Eleanor Clift, author and contributing editor, Newsweek

2004 Ardath Rodale and Marie Rodale. Ardie (1928-2009) served as Rodale’s CEO from 1990 to 2007; Marie is the current CEO and Chairman of Rodale, Inc

2003 Susan Taylor, founding editor, Essence
Gloria Steinem
2002 Rita Henley Jensen, founding editor, Women’s ENews

2001 Linda Gardiner, founding editor, Women’s Review of Books

2000 Bonnie Krueger, founding publisher, Associated Press publications

1999 Gloria Steinem, co-founder of Ms. magazine